It’s a boy!

When I first found out I was pregnant my obstetrician recommended having the Harmony blood test.  This is an over 90% definitive test for down syndrome.  It is expensive and not covered by my medical insurance but my husband and I considered it was worth it given my age and the statistics for a 47 year old woman having a down syndrome baby being a 1 in 18 chance.  Yesterday the results came through and we now know there is less than 1 in 10,000 chance of having a baby affected by down syndrome, we are in the low risk category.

So just as my fertility was unaffected by my age, so it seems is the risk of my baby having a trisomy abnormality.  Given my age I have had three scans already, checking for heart, spine, bladder and kidney function, all of which are developing normally, thank god!

One of the side tests Harmony offer is conclusive sex confirmation.  We are having a boy! Somehow I had already known that… have you ever felt that way?  Absolutely certain the life growing within you is definitely a boy, or definitely a girl.  I am not sure why or how, but I just knew!

Leave a Reply

